Bring Me a Higher Love

As I drove to work early one morning, the eastern sunrise was blazing the high wispy clouds with pink and orange. It was glorious. The colors filled my car as I drove on until I pulled into the parking lot, turned off the car and climbed out. I then paused and took a deep breath of cool air as I looked west at the foothills now glowing with the orange of the sunrise. The continental divide rose above and well beyond the foothills and had not yet meet the day. They were blanketed in white from days-long winter storms. The sky was just deepening it’s blue and the moon was setting over the Rockies. In that moment, I felt so close to God and to Heaven. It was a brief moment of peace and calm. I exhaled. I could feel lost loved ones in my heart. I wish I could feel forever what I felt in that moment.

Then there was an unremarkable afternoon. I was doing some work in the back yard. I realized I hadn’t seen my dog for a few minutes and I stood up to look. She came trotting, almost strutting from behind the garage. Her tail was wagging as she bounced towards me. Her head was high and her faced almost smiled. I could tell she was carrying something she shouldn’t have, and she was quite proud of herself. I couldn’t help but laugh as I “scolded” her and she relinquished her treasure. I gave her a hug and we played fetch for a while. My spirits were lifted and worries forgotten.

What lifts you up from ordinary life? It could be the sound of children’s laughter or maybe the touch of your partner. It may be a phone call from a long lost friend or an insightful homily. When I listen to certain people or read particular blogs, I am overwhelmed at how these individuals are filled with the love of Jesus. I wish I could feel what they feel. I long for that defining moment when He has come to me and I accept him unconditionally. I want my heart to be filled with His love. I have become a more accepting and kinder person in my lifetime. I can say all the words and do all the deeds that many Christians say and do. But, that alone doesn’t work for me. I don’t want to be the type of Christian who only uses it when it serves their purpose. I want to feel it and know it and believe it in my heart. I hope that day comes soon.

Steve Winwood’s “Higher Love”

Think about it, there must be higher love
Down in the heart or hidden in the stars above
Without it, life is a wasted time
Look inside your heart, I’ll look inside mine
Things look so bad everywhere
In this whole world, what is fair?
We walk blind and we try to see
Falling behind in what could be

Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Where’s that higher love I keep thinking of?

Worlds are turning and we’re just hanging on
Facing our fear and standing out there alone
A yearning, and it’s real to me
There must be someone who’s feeling for me
Things look so bad everywhere
In this whole world, what is fair?
We walk blind and we try to see
Falling behind in what could be

Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Where’s that higher love I keep thinking of?

Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Bring be a higher love
I could rise above on a higher love

I will wait for it
I’m not too late for it
Until then, I’ll sing my song
To cheer the night along
Bring it… Oh bring it…

I could light the night up with my soul on fire
I could make the sun shine from pure desire
Let me feel that love come over me
Let me feel how strong it could be

Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Where’s that higher love I keep thinking of?

 

Leave a Reply

