The day the music died

(apologies to Don McClean)

I used to live with music in my life. All types of music.  I listened to whatever seemed to feel right. Lynn and I mostly listened to what is now called Classic Rock and Outlaw Country. It was on the system at home. It was on the radio when the car started. It was in the bars and the concerts we went to. We loved music. I loved music.

Now, all that music brings memories of times spent with Lynn. Memories of happy times. Memories of being together. Memories of making love all night. Memories of driving in the car, singing along with the windows down. Memories of dancing. Memories of us with friends. These are all beautiful memories. But the songs that bring these memories also bring pain. The pain of loss and the pain of love lost. I rarely listen to music anymore.

“A long, long time ago
I can still remember how that music used to make me smile”

Leave a Reply

