Days on a Calendar

Yesterday was the 39th anniversary of my marriage to Lynn. As with last year’s, Lynn is no longer here to celebrate with me. Of course, celebration is more of a remembrance now. A mental walk through memories and emotions, pain and joy.

All week leading up to the date I was feeling “off” in my daily life. I get anxious and depressed with a dose of nostalgia thrown in. This happens around special dates like this. These dates used to be days of fun and happiness, but now are mostly memories and emptiness. I know this is going to happen, and I think it will be better, but my heart and my mind don’t communicate on the same level during these times.

Don’t be afraid to tell someone you are thinking of them when these dates come for a friend who has had a loss, no matter how long ago. They will being thinking about it and it will help them to know that you are thinking of them.

Peace and Strength.

Leave a Reply

