The unborn soul

I’ve been wishing my son and daughter-in-law would hurry up and start having children. I can’t wait to have grand kids. There is something about little ones, with their unending joy of discovering life, that can reset your own sense of wonder. My mother-in-law was like this her whole life. She could always see the little miracles of life and find joy in the simplest things. I always wanted to have this mentality, but I have never been able to be that free. I’ve had periods of my life that were free and easy, but I was much younger then. And much less encumbered by life.

Getting back to future grandchildren, is it possible for a middle aged man to feel a biological clock for grand kids? The older I get, the more I realize my time slipping away. I want to see this child grow up and become someone. I want to see my own son become a father and find a new meaning to his life. It’s so interesting that as my life comes closer to it’s end, I find more enjoyment in the young. Not that I’m that old, but I am on the second half of that century mark. I guess it’s probably natural to hold onto aspects of youth as we age, and grandchildren can fill that part.

I’ve talked in previous posts about my need to find a new mission, a new purpose. Maybe this unborn soul is reaching out to me that it is going to be my new purpose. I will have to wait and see, but I know I will do my best at showing this little person the little miracles in our daily lives. And I will do my best at telling many good stories of Lynn and how much she would have loved to be here for them.

Peace and Love

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

